Getting out of the AF for SURE!

Well… I did it.

I made the first decision at work that was specifically tailored to my path to get out.  I’ve been floating along for the past year without having been put in a position to make any hard career choices.

I decided not to apply to be my unit’s executive officer (I was told I was the #1 candidate) because there was no way I was going to spend my last year on active duty pulling 60+ hr workweeks for a job that had no longterm impact.  It also would have been selfish to take the #1 CGO position away from someone else who could really use it as a career boost and then separate.

I feel at ease with the decision, but unsettled to be passing up the challenge.  I don’t like how it looks that I didn’t even apply.  Most don’t know that I’m getting out, so they just think I’m shirking responsibility.  All in due time.

Now there’s no turning back.  It’s the corporate world for me.

2 responses to “Getting out of the AF for SURE!

  1. Great to hear of your courage in making that call! A similar sort of decision was made FOR me by my battalion commander when I told him I was thinking of getting out of the Army. He told me that he did not want to give company command to someone who was going to get out so now I’m going to stay in my current job as a plans officer. I hope your MBA applications are going well.

  2. Thanks for writing this stuff down and opening up to the world! I think there are many in the interverse that struggle with this “should I/shouldn’t I, when, and how on earth to pay” stuff.

    I’ve been struggling with it for a few years. So far family obligations have carried the day.

    My life experience is quite different to yours. I graduated with a mining engineering degree and then jumped into management consulting straight from uni. As career starts go, I was blessed (and thankful for it) — still blessed really. I have experience in a lot of countries, speak two languages, and have seen the inside of a lot of mega companies. I’m currently working for one of the world’s great (size, risk awareness, brands) banks.

    I often envy the leadership, personal discipline and paperwork execution proficiency of retired servicemen and women. I’ve worked with a few. Some of those skills are so valuable for life!

    So, with a blessed career, why the heck do an MBA? I have learned that I know so little. I do well with the knowledge I have, and can usually figure out what I’m missing to get to the next deadline, or the next objective. I just want to know more. I also want to access leadership roles in a very competitive environment. I think that an MBA might be the price of admission, regardless of experience, when I’m competing with a 1000+ other under 40’s to get into senior ops management in a global bank. I also know I’ll love it. I need community, classroom and teamwork. If I find the right school I know I’ll love every minute, even the minutes I hate in the midst of it.

    So, I’ll be watching, reading, and sharing – learning from your experience, and planning my own. Thanks again for putting this “out there”.

Leave a Reply

